Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of November 28, 2007


  The meeting was called to order at 6:03 PM by President Chapman. The Flag salute followed with the reading of the meeting purpose. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as corrected. (Motions made by delegate Peg Chrisman should have IBEW77 after the name.)





  M/(Sells, EEA.UTE772) S/ (Boschok, IAM751F) to seat the delegates who were present. Neil Sidhu, IBEW 191 was sworn in as a delegate.






  Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported on the Executive Board meeting and actions of November 20, 2007. The Board looked at 2008 priorities and agreed to pursue a Solidarity Grant with the AFLCIO for 2008 to help with elections. He gave a recap of the COPE activity in 2007 and how endorsed candidates fared. On the siting of a new university for the area, the Board recommended support the NBBJ report from the state that recommended the Everett Transit site as the number spot for location, followed by Marysville, the Everett Riverfront and Lake Stevens in that order. It was M/S (Exec Bd) to concur with the Executive Board recommendation to support the NBBJ report and the Everett Transit station as the number 1 site. The Board also agreed to dues for 2007 in the Washington Fair Trade Coalition of $100.00. The staff contract with Teamsters 38 was also approved.




Organizing  Jackie Boschok, IAM 751F, reported on a new subcontractor to a Boeing subcontractor organized in the Spokane area. It is a unit of 120 new members. Darrell Chapman, IBEW 191 reported that the local is looking for licensed electricians. They are building a database for house calling.


Contract Negotiations  Bill Wickline, IATSE 15 noted that 7 years ago the local signed 27 contacts. They are now up to 51. They will be entering negotiations with the Everett Events Center for the 13 technicians that they represent. He also mentioned the informational picket that they had on the Events Center recently. Geoffrey Crofoot, IFPTE 17, reported that they have a tentative offer from the Snohomish County Health District that substantially improves health care benefits. Steve Chandler, IBT38 reported on the ratification of the grocery contracts in the area. Christine Brydges, ATU 1576, reported the on-going negotiations with Community Transit.




  Nominations for the following offices for two year terms were opened. The following nominations were made:


   Nominations will be open at the January meeting




  Puget Sound Labor Agency, Suzanne Moreau previewed the PSLA Holiday raffle.


  Judy Neumann, IAM751F presented a $1,000.00 check to the PSLA Operation Shortfall in memory of her husband, Sgt At Arms, Bob Neumann.


   Liz Loomis, Candidate for 44th District, House seat appointment discussed her campaign for the seat, and her support from other representatives.


   Darrell Chapman, Candidate for the 21st District, House appointment reported on his activities in seeking the seat, and noted that he is also preparing to run for election.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:41 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer









AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811: No Delegate




AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020:

AFSCME 1355: No Delegate

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Jackie Minchew, Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

AFT 4254:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: Christine Brydges

AWPPW 644: No Delegate

GCIU 767M:

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: David Volkmann

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup, Don Shove

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E: Guerdon Ellis

IAM 751F: Jackie Boshok, Grace Holland, Garth Luark, Judy Neumann

IATSE 15: John Lammon, Bill Wickline

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Peg Chrisman

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Jason Armstrong, Travis Patterson

IBT 38: Tami Brady, Steven Chandler, Janine Dibble, Samantha Kantak, Rick Olson

IBT 174:

IBT 231:

IBT 763:

IBU/ ILWU: Robin Ramsey, David McKenzie

IFPTE 17: Geoffrey Crofoot

ILWU 32:

IUOE 302: No Delegate

IUPAT DC 5: No Delegate

IW 86:

LIUNA 292: Doug Scott

NALC 791:


OPEIU 277: No Delegate

Pac NW Newspaper Guild:

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26:


SEIU 925: Toni Bohan, Donna Chrisman

SEIU 1199NW:

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Chris Glenn, David Simpson

UBC 562: John Noble, Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 44: No Delegate

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UFCW 21:

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Curt Eidem, Rennie Sawade


Excused Absences

AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Gloria Parker

AFT 772: Kim Mead

IAM 751C: Hank Getchman

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman

LIUNA 292:  Jim Smith

SPEEA: Mark Moshey, Bob Rommel



Liz Loomis, Candidate for 44th House

Suzanne Moreau, PSLA