Minutes of 8/28/2019 SICLC Delegates Meeting


The Meeting was called to order by Vice President Doug Scott at 6:02 PM. The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted, and the President’s Message was read.


The Minutes form the June meeting were approved.




The following people were present and sworn in.


Bryan Johnson, IW 86

Gunnar Birkeland, IBT 231

Chuck Johnson, AFSCME 1811-CA

Chris Dunphy, AFSCME 1811- CA





Aunja Staymates, United Way Labor Liaison; She spoke about the Day of Caring coming up in September and the need for volunteers, and the elementary school calendar that the Labor Advisory Committee sponsored that goes out to elementary school students throughout Snohomish County.


April Berg, Candidate for Everett School Board; April spoke about her campaign and her support for organized labor and asked for an endorsement from the delegates.


Joseph Busig, Candidate for Oak Harbor City Council; Joseph introduced himself and asked for the delegates endorsement.


Dave Paul, State Representative 10th LD; Dave spoke about his first year in the Legislature and his priorities in next year’s session.


Liz Vogeli, Candidate for Everett City Council; Liz gave a report on her campaign. Thanked the delegates for there support last year and asked for their support and again.


Cindy Gobel, Candidate for Snohomish County Auditor; She spoke about what the auditor’s office does and why she is running and asked for the Labor Council’s support.



A brief intermission was taken so the guests could be excused.


Secretary -Treasurers Report:


Secretary-Treasurer Kelley reported on the round table with Senator Patty Murray that was held at the Labor Temple. He also gave a brief report on the festivals that the council participated in over the summer.


Lastly, he reminded the delegates that we have the following events coming up:


·       United Way Labor Advisory Committee meeting will be

        September 16th at 5:00 PM at the Labor Temple.

·       Education Class with Mark McDermott, October 5th, “Speaking from the Heart.”

·       Trade Up for Everett School District @Cascade High School, October 1st

·       Trade Up for Edmonds School District @ Alderwood Middle School, October 10th


New Business:


·       A recommendation from the COPE committee to endorse Larry Sather for Stanwood City council was voted and passed unanimously

·       A recommendation from the COPE committee to endorse Rhiaz Khan for Mukilteo City council was voted and passed unanimously

·       A recommendation from the COPE committee to endorse George Ziegen for Stanwood Camano School Board was voted and passed unanimously

·       A recommendation from the COPE committee to endorse Carin Chase for Edmonds School Board was voted and passed unanimously


A motion was made to endorse Joseph Busig for Oak Harbor City Council, after some discussion the motion passed. *


A motion was made to endorse April Berg for Everett School Board, the motion passed. *


A motion was made to endorse Cindy Gobel for Snohomish County Auditor, after several minutes of discussion the motion failed.


*Secretary-Treasurer Kelley announced that motions from the floor will not be officially voted on till next meeting in October.


Reports of Unions:


Laurel Blaine, IATSE 15: gave an update on current negotiations with Rhino NW adding that might be staging an action soon and would appreciate the support of the council.


Larry Montgomery, LIUNA 292:  gave a n update on National Apprenticeship Week, stating this will be the 3rd year and they will be looking for donations and we are welcome to participate. The event will be held November 13th.


Nalley Flores, OPEIU Local 8: reported on their negotiations with Providence, she added that a strike is becoming more imminent. She reported that Mary Malloy passed away.


A moment of silence was held in honor of Mary Malloy.


The meeting was adjourned at 7:24 PM


Respectfully submitted


Leonard Kelley










Steve Kofahl, AFGE 3937

Gary Kanter, AFM 76-493 (Excused)

Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109

Angela Guadamuz, AFSCME 1811CA

Tyler Verda, AFSCME 1811CA

Steve Nelson, AFSCME 1020

Dan Murphy, AFSCME 1020

John Sainz, ATU 1576

Brian Butler, IAM 751A

Joel Hetland, IAM 751A

Wes Heard, IAM 751A

Steven Morrison, IAM 751A

Paul Schubert, IAM 751A

Roger Walker, IAM 751A

Michael Hill, IAM 751C

Gary Naples, IAM 751C (Excused)

Denise Strike, IAM 751F (Excused)

Shane VanPelt, IAM 751F

Tom McConnell, IATSE 15 (Excused)

Laurel Blaine, IATSE 15

Kai Fuller, IATSE 793 (Excused)

James DeCaro, IBEW 46

Matthew Kirby, IBEW 46

Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89

Karen Tegard, IBEW 89

Dan Verda, IBEW 191

Gary Kemp, IBEW 191 (Excused)

Debbie Gath, IBT 38

Wendy Garrett-Drake, IBT 38 (Excused)

Michael Boe, IBT 117 (Excused)

Bill Albin, IUOE 302

Al Cummins, IUOE 302

Rick Cunningham, IUOE 302

Chris Glenn, LIUNA 292

Doug Scott, LIUNA 292

Mike Llewellyn, LIUNA 292

Larry Montgomery, LIUNA 292

Nallely Flores, OPEIU 8

Elizabeth Maass, OPEIU 8

Nancy Nickles, OPCMIA 528

Justin Palachuck, OPCMIA 528

Jordan Russeff, OPCMIA 528

Steve Peloquin, OPCMIA 528

Kathy Pierson, PTE 17 (Excused)

Cynthia Robson, SEIU 1199NW

Susanne Murphy, SPEEA 2001

Fidencio Velasco, UBC 70