Minutes of 8/26/2020 SICLC Delegates Meeting


The meeting was called to order at 6:02 PM by President Jason Redrup.

The pledge of allegiance was conducted, and the president’s message was read.



            A motion was made to accept the minutes from the previous meeting, the motion passed.




The following people were present and sworn in by Trustee Teresa Johnson.


            Michael Holman, AFSCME 948

John Traynor, IBEW 191

            Michael Schreck, IBEW 191

            Jeffery Forbes, SPEEA 2001




            President Report: (Jason Redrup) Reminded us that our meeting in September will be on September 

                                                30th, the 5th Wednesday instead of the 4th Wednesday


Secretary-Treasurer: (Leonard Kelley) Gave an update on Labor Day activities and shared an audio of

                                       the Labor Day radio ad was played. He reported on the ad for October 

                                       celebrating the 80th Anniversary of the 40-hour work week.


Leonard reported on the upcoming political program and the back to school supplies which is run through the United Way Labor Advisory Committee.


He added he was part of the County Economic Recovery Taskforce and was pleased the task force job training for displaced workers was a priority.


New Business


COPE Endorsements:  (Presented to the Delegate Body)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  M= Motion

      *Recommendation from the Executive Board forAngie Homola, LD 10 Legislative Rep  (MSA)         S = Secondary

      *Recommendation from the Executive Board forApril Berg, LD 44 Legislative Rep  (MSA)               A = Voted Approved


Reports of Unions:


IBEW 89/LAC: Teresa Johnson – Reported on the Labor Advisory Committee and Kristen Rohrenbach will be the new liaison starting September 1st.


IBT 117: Michael Boe – Reported that negotiations were underway for corrections officers and that the state proposal was for a 3% decrease.


IAM 751C: Joe Ruth– Reported that Boeing is reaching out to politicians telling them that they would be willing to keep the 787 here if the union would make concessions.    


IATSE 15: Laurel Blaine – Reported they have negotiations going on with Seattle Children’s Theatre and she added that 95% of their members are currently out of work and to keep that in mind when talking to legislators.


SICLC: Leonard Kelley – Reported that he was asked to participate in verifying cards for the field staff of Congresswoman Kim Schrier. And that her staff are now union members of IBEW 89.


IBT 38: Debbie Gath – Reported that her husbands’ company which was non-union had now become members of IBEW. She added that she has been involved in conversations with the Governor and School Districts with regards to bus drivers. She stated that she was disappointed that the governor’s proclamation allowed for things that were already in place and that it was not to keep all bus drivers employed.


Pilchuck UniServ: Justin Fox Bailey – Reported that all school districts were in negotiations with certificated employees and nurses with regards to onsite and online work for staff and students.


OPEIU 8: Nallely Flores – Reported they organized Crisis Connection and were looking forward to their first contract.


43 participants tonight.



The meeting was adjourned at 7:37 PM


Respectfully submitted


Leonard Kelley



















Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109

Shane Van Pelt, IAM 751F

David Simpson, SPEEA 2001

Larry Montgomery, LIUNA 292

Susanne Murphy, SPEEA 2001

Michael Hill, IAM 751C

Leonard Kelley, IBT 38

Debbie Gath, IBT 38

Gunnar Birkeland, IBT 231

Laurel Blaine, IASTE 15

Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89

Michael Boe, IBT 117

Doug Scott, LIUNA 292

Dan Murphy, AFSCME 1020

Wes Heard, IAM 751A

Al Cummins, IUOE 302

Jonelle Fenton-Wallace, ProTec 17

Joseph Ruth, IAM 751C

David Simpson, SPEEA 2001

Brian Butler, IAM 751A

Billy Wallace, LIUNA 292

Mike Llewellyn, LIUNA 292

Juliet D’Alessandro, ProTec 17

Shawn Stewart, UFCW 21

Wil Peterson, UFCW 21

Jason Redrup, IAM 751A

Steve Kofahl, AFGE 3937

Jacob McConkey, IAFF 3219

Roger Walker, IAM 751A

Jim DeCaro, IBEW 46

Michelle Hetzel, AFSCME 948

Steven Morrison, IAM 751A

John Dimas, SPEEA 2001

Joel Hetland, IAM 751A

Angela Guadamuz, AFSCME 1811-CA

Nallely Flores, OPEIU 8

Justin Fox Bailey, Pilchuck UniServ

Gary Naple, IAM 751C

Nichole Reedy, IBEW 77

Jeffrey Forbes, SPEEA 2001

Michael Holman, AFSCME 948

Jason Redrup, IAM 751A

Mark Clark, IAM 751A

Randy Davis, Pilchuck UniServ

Michael Schreck, IBEW 191