Minutes of 1/22/2020 SICLC Delegates Meeting


The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Jason Redrup.

The pledge of allegiance was conducted, and the president’s message was read.


Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.




The following people were present and sworn in.


Jacob McConkey, IAFF 3219

Alfred Soto, IAM 751F

Lloyd Catlin, IAM 751F

Joseph Ruth, IAM 751F


President’s Report:


President Redrup welcomed everyone back adding this is going to be a very busy year for us with federal and local elections.


Secretary -Treasurer Report


Secretary Treasurer Kelley reported that Jacob McConkey who was just sworn in was a member of IAFF 3219 and that his local had just affiliated with the Labor Council.  Leonard asked that Jacob tell us a little bit about his local. Jacob obliged and added he was very happy to be a part of the council.


Leonard spoke about the ribbon cutting at the RAP program at Marysville Pilchuck High School and how Trade Up was a big influence. He also announced our next one is May 21st at Marysville Pilchuck High School.


He reminded everyone that our next labor education class is with Mark McDermott, on March 28th and to get the word out.  Also, he let the delegation know that there was a Schedule of Events and information on our upcoming Solidarity Night at the Silvertips on February 14th on the back table, mentioning that tickets for this event were going fast.


New Business


Nominations & Elections of Officers:


            Nominations were opened for President, no further nominations from the floor.



                                    Jason Redrup, IAM 751A (nominated in Dec ’19)



Nominations were opened for Sergeant of Arms vacated by the retirement of John Sainz.


                        Sergeant of Arms:

                                    Bryan Johnson, IW 86 was nominated

                                    Shane Van Pelt, IAM 751F was nominated


Nominations were opened for Trustee #1, no further nominations came from the floor.


            Trustee Position 1

                        Rick Cunningham, IUOE 302 (nominated in Dec ’19)


Nominations were opened for Trustee #3, no further nominations came from the floor.


Trustee Position 3

                        Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109 (nominated in Dec ’19)


Nominations were opened for Trustee #4, no further nominations came from the floor.


Trustee Position 4

                        Michael Boe, IBT 117 (nominated in Dec ’19)


Nominations were opened for Trustee #5, no further nominations came from the floor.


Trustee Position 5

                        Dan Murphy, AFSCME 1020 (nominated in Dec ’19)


A motion was made to vote by acclamation for the uncontested positions. The motion was passed.


Ballots were distributed for the one contested position Sergeant of Arms. Ballots were returned and counted. Shane Van Pelt won.


Shane Van Pelt, Dan Murphy, Polagaya McLaughlin were sworn into their newly elected roles.


Good of the Order


Aunja Staymates, United Way Labor Liaison: reported on the activities of the Labor Advisory Committee which includes the Letter Carrier’s Food Drive with planning starting next week.  She added that Teresa Johnson was selected as chair of the committee.


Cynthia Robson, SEIU 1199NW: reported that they were still in bargaining with Providence.  Cynthia reported that they will be striking Swedish next week for three days.  They have 900 open nursing positions because they can’t retain people due to working conditions.


JP Cary, AFSCME 113: reported that they had just negotiated a two-year contract with the city of Everett.


Matthew Kirby, IBEW 46: reported they just signed SME which is 175 elections and that it only took 25 years to sign them.


Justin Palachuck, OPCMIA 528: reported that they have a CWA tentative agreement with the Marysville School District


The meeting was adjourned at 6:56 PM


Respectfully submitted


Leonard Kelley




Gary Kanter, AFM 76-493

Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109

JP Carey, AFSCME 113

Angela Guadamuz, AFSCME 1811CA

Dan Murphy, AFSCME 1020

Troy Stansel-Garner, AFSCME 1020

Brian Butler, IAM 751A

Mark Clark, IAM 751A

Jason Redrup, IAM 751A

Wes Heard, IAM 751A

Steven Morrison, IAM 751A

Paul Schubert, IAM 751A

Michael Hill, IAM 751C

Shane VanPelt, IAM 751F

Kai Fuller, IATSE 793

Matthew Kirby, IBEW 46

Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89 (Excused)

Karen Tegard, IBEW 89

Damien Fisher, IBEW 191

Dan Verda, IBEW 191

Michael Boe, IBT 117 (Excused)

Bill Albin, IUOE 302

Al Cummins, IUOE 302

Tony Zempel, IUOE 302

Chris Glenn, LIUNA 292

Doug Scott, LIUNA 292

Mike Llewellyn, LIUNA 292

Billy Wallace, jr, LIUNA 292 (Excused)

Bob James, NALC 791

Nallely Flores, OPEIU 8

Justin Palachuck, OPCMIA 528

Joseph Neff, OPCMIA 528

Steve Peloquin, OPCMIA 528

Cynthia Robson, SEIU 1199NW

Evan Wipf, SPEEA 2001

John Dimas, SPEEA 2001

Susanne Murphy, SPEEA 2001 (Excused)

Ralph Knutson, RPEC 6