Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of August 25, 2010


The meeting was called to order by Vice President Boschok at 6:00 PM as President Chapman was delayed. She appointed Trustee Leonard Kelley, IBT 231 to the Vice Presidentís Chair for the meeting. The flag salute and reading of meeting purpose followed. Minutes of the previous two meetings were approved as typed and handed out.





  No new delegates were present to be seated and sworn in.




   Toni Olson, PUD Commissioner and Candidate for Re-election gave her background and work on the commission in eliminating some work backlogs. She was on the commission when they stabilized rates, and they are down to the lowest quartile of any of the electric utilities. She discussed how stimulus and grant money was being used and responded to questions regarding consideration of project labor agreements.


 (President Chapman arrived and assumed the chair)




  Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported that the County Council had appointed Stephanie Wright to County Council, District 3, the open seat vacated by Mike Cooper. Ms. Wright was the labor supported candidate. He gave a brief election update and the need to turn-out voters. He reported on the new County Apprenticeship Utilization and Responsible Bidding ordinances signed into law by County Executive Reardon on Friday, August 20th at the IBEW 191 Hall. He asked delegates to respond to whether or not we needed to have a printed minutes copy for every delegate at the meetings since the minutes were posted on line. It was decided to have a few copies available, and to notify delegates when minutes had been posted so they could recommend any changes.




Organizing—IBT 231, Leonard Kelley reported on an unfair labor practice decision regarding Lincare, Inc. which gave workers the ability to talk about unionization at work during normal conversation

Contract Negotiations—AFSCME 1811CA, Patty Goins reported on negotiations with the county. Proposals will be out September 1st

  IAM 751E, Ron Bradley reported on a contract settlement at BAE Systems in Everett.

  IBT 38, Steve Chandler reported that their contract at Everett Steel had been opened. They have also been at the table with the UFCW to deal with their grocery contract. There have been 22 sessions since May. Teamsters from several locals are on strike against Coca Cola. They are trying to get the company back to the table. Over 500 members are affected in Western Washington.

  AFSCME 948, Randy Kurtz reported on contract negotiations with the state. With the poor economy, it is going to be tough. The state wants to up health care costs from an 88-12 split to 76 – 24 split, or triple out of pocket expenses. AFSCME has submitted two proposals to deal with the issues. They have accepted furlough days and cuts in the past.


Other Activities—IBT 38, Steve Chandler invited delegates to the United Way/Labor Partnership Luncheon on August 26th.

  ATU 1576, Rick Jurkovic announced that Community Transit had appointed the non voting union member to the Board, Lance Norton, former President of ATU 587. He felt that the public agencies around the state had done everything they could to forestall appointments. He also reported that the Community Transit CEO reported in her state of agency report that what they are doing is not working with regards to scheduling, and more downsizing will be needed by February 2012. The union has suggested restoring some services and modifying others to cover it.




M/S/ to endorse Toni Olson for PUD Commissioner. The motion will be voted on at the September meeting.




  Bob Rommel, SPEEA reported that Sandy Hastings had received the Elsie Schroeder Award at the State Labor Council Convention

  Chris Glenn, LIUNA 292, solicited volunteers for a Democratic Booth at the Evergreen State Fair.

  Jim Smith, retired LIUNA 292 member, promoted the KSER Labor Radio Journal program which he has been doing for 16 years.

  Jason Redrup, IAM 751A reported that the State Labor Council Convention had been productive. He also mentioned the retirement of President Bender and Secretary-Treasurer Link. He also discussed the tough re-election campaign for Senator Patty Murray.

  Leonard Kelley, IBT 231, said he felt that the convention moved everyone to same page for future actions.

  Sandy Hastings, SPEEA, reported that she felt everyone would be moving forward now with Laborís agenda as a result of the convention.

  Dan Christofferson, LIUNA 292, reported on I-1082 and the need to vote no on it.

  Toni Bohan, SEIU 925, reported on the 38th District Senate candidate and the need to use COPE interviews to get good answers to questions before taking action.

  Chris Glenn, LIUNA 292, thanked the Department of Labor and Industries staff for their help in keeping us alive and working.

  Jackie Boschok, IAM 751F, asked delegates to remember the service of Nancy Holland-Young as Executive Director of the Puget Sound Labor Agency.

  Suzanne Moreau, Puget Sound Labor Agency, thanked local unions IAM, SPEEA and Teamsters for their back pack donations. She gave a schedule of upcoming events. She reported that Bob Rommel, SPEEA and Doug Scott, LIUNA 292 sit on the Board of United Way. The Spirit of Labor Award will be given out on September 8th at the United Way breakfast. She also noted that the VOA will need help with a sorting project.

  Darrell Chapman, IBEW 191, announced he would be running for Labor Council Vice President again.


The meeting was adjourned at 7:16 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer





AFSCME 109S: No Delegate

AFSCME 113: Cameron Johnson

AFSCME 1811: James Trefry


AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Terry VanWyck


AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic

AWPPW 183:

AWPPW 644: No Delegate

GCIU 767M:

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: William Carroll, David Volkmann

IAM 751A:  Jason Redrup, Don Shove

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E: Ron Bradley

IAM 751F: Jackie Boshok

IATSE 15: John Lammon

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman

IBT 38: Steven Chandler, Rick Olson

IBT 174:

IBT 231: Leonard Kelley

IBT 763:



ILWU 32:

IUOE 302: No Delegate


IW 86:

LIUNA 292: Dan Christofferson, Chris Glenn, Doug Scott

NALC 791: Bob James


OPEIU 277:

Pac NW Newspaper Guild:


Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate


SEIU 925: Toni Bohan

SEIU 1199NW:

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, Sandy Hastings, James Gillan, Bob Rommel

UBC 562: Guy Johnson, Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA:


Excused Absences

IAM 751F: Grace Holland

IBT 38: Janine Dibble



M. Carlson, WFSE 1020

John Lehmen, Jr., UBC 562

Chris Louie, IAM 751C

Toni Olson, IBEW

Jim Smith, Radio Labor Journal, LIUNA 292