Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of January 26, 2011


  The meeting was called to order by Vice President Boschok at 6:00 PM. It was followed by the flag salute and the reading of the meeting purpose. President Chapman was attending a union trustee meeting in Florida. Leonard Kelley, IBT 231 was appointed to the Vice President’s chair for the meeting. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted on line.





  M/S/C to seat the new delegates who were present. Janice Herrera, OPEIU 8; Robert DeVelder and Darrell McLaughlin, IBEW 191; Rich Ewing, IBT 231; Greg Flatmo, IUPAT 5 were present and sworn in.




  Lori Province, Washington State Labor Council, thanked the SCLC for its work in the 2010 election through the Labor/Neighbor program. Two affiliates: Laborers 292 and IBEW 191 received an award for their stellar participation. Two individuals also received awards for their work: Darrell Wolf, IBEW 191, and Chris Louie, IAM 751.




  Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported on the SCLC Executive Board meeting of January 6th. The Board adopted a 2011 budget and a new staff contract. The Board donated $600.00 to the YMCA Minority Achievers Program, and $500.00 to the local MLK event. In addition, $100 was donated to the PSLA First Amendment Scholarship Event that will be held on Feb. 10th.

  He reported that after much great research by Ed Triezenberg of the Carpenters Union, it was discovered that Carpenters Local 562 is the majority stockholder in the Labor Temple with the Labor Council holding the second largest number of shares. Other locals holding minority stock include Laborers 292, Plumbers, IBEW 191, Bricklayers, Sheetmetal Workers 66 and Cement Finishers.

New officers for the Everett Trades and Building Association have been elected.

  The SCLC Executive Board heard from 3 candidates for Superior Court, Pos. 15. All the candidates were exceptional. However, one stood out and a letter was sent to the Governor on her behalf: Jennifer Rancourt.

  In his role as a legislator, Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported on action regarding the unemployment compensation legislation before the House. He stated that it would be an extremely tough budget session.




  Nominations were re-opened for Secretary-Treasurer, Vice President, Sgt.-At-Arms and Trustees 2 and 6. There were no further nominations. It was M/S/C to cast a unanimous ballot for the following delegates for the following positions:





Organizing Reports—AFSCME Council 2, James Trefrey reported on contacts from city employees in Arlington. The city manager has called them together to ask them not to organize.

  SPEEA, Bob Rommel reported on the organizing the 104 Boeing Field Reps.

  IAM 751, Jason Redrup reported on a successful election for 600 Aircraft Mechanics a Whidbey Naval Air Station.


Contract Negotiations—AFSCME Council 28, Randy Kurtz reported that state employees have an agreement. It will start July 1 and go to June 30, 2012. A ratification vote is coming up

  IFPTE 17, Geoff Crofoot reported on a one year offer from the Snohomish Health District

  IBT 38, Steve Chandler reported that they had a 97% yes ratification vote on the retail clerks’ contract. They have also closed up contracts with Everett Steel and the Labor Council.

  IBT 231, Leonard Kelley discussed the Waste Management Contract that covers north Snohomish County. The company is pushing backward on the Health and Welfare section of the agreement. The Teamsters may be seeking strike authorization soon.

  AFSCME Council 2, James Trefrey updated the delegates on recent bargaining with Snohomish County.


Other Local Activity—Steve Chandler, IBT 38, announced that Leonard Kelley is the new President of IBT 231.






  Secretary-Treasurer Sells, EEA/UTE 772, congratulated delegate Randy Kurtz on his impending marriage in July.

  Geoff Crofoot, IFPTE17 reported on the non-profit bike club Sharing Wheels. They refurbish bicycles and donate them to people in our community. He asked delegates to let him know if they have any old bikes they would like to donate. Good quality bikes donated to them before February 12th will be used to generate dollars to help with the refurbishing. They are also looking for a volunteer treasurer. The website is

  Grace Collins, IAM 751, announced that she would be chairing Workers Memorial this year and was looking for help. Bob Rommel and Guy Johnson volunteered.

   Leonard Kelley, IBT 231, thanked Secretary-Treasurer Sells for his work concerning a class offered at Everett Community College whose coarse description included union busting. Within 24 hours of S/T Sells inquiries concerning the class and its description, a college representative responded that a mistake had been made and the class description was rewritten to accurately reflect the course objectives. 

   Chris Glenn, LIUNA 292, congratulated Don Shove on his impending retirement from Boeing.

    Suzanne Moreau, PSLA Snohomish Director, reported that this year’s MLK march was cancelled. There will be a breakfast on Feb. 2nd. February 10th is the PSLA First Amendment Auction at the IAM Building near Paine Field. There will be an auction of Labor memorabilia . She thanked all the volunteers that have been working on it: Kay Powers, Toni Bohan. The event is from 5:30 PM to 9:00 PM. Darrell Chapman will be the auctioneer. Annette Barca has made a Solidarity Quilt for the event.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:59 PM


Respectfully submitted




Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer






AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811: James Trefry

AFSCME 1811C: Tom Blum

AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Terry VanWyck


AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020:

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: Christine Brydges

AWPPW 183:

AWPPW 644: No Delegate

GCIU 767M:

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: David Volkmann

IAM 751A:,Jason Redrup, Don Shove

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Jackie Boshok, Grace Holland

IATSE 15: John Lammon, Tom McConnell

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77:

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Robert DeVelder, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Steven Chandler, Rick Olson

IBT 174:

IBT 231: Rich Ewing, Leonard Kelley

IBT 763:


IFPTE 17: Geoffrey Crofoot

ILWU 32:

IUOE 302: No Delegate

IUPAT DC 5: Greg Flatmo

IW 86:

LIUNA 292: Dan Christofferson, Chris Glenn, Doug Scott

NALC 791: Bob James

OPEIU 8: Janice Herrera

OPEIU 277:

Pac NW Newspaper Guild:


Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate


SEIU 925: Toni Bohan

SEIU 1199NW:

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, Bob Rommel,  David Simpson

UBC 562: Guy Johnson

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Rennie Sawade


Excused Absences

UBC 562: Ed Triezenberg



Suzanne Moreau, PSLA

Lori Province, WSLC/OPEIU 8