Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of October 24, 2007


  The meeting was called to order a 6:00 PM by President Chapman, followed by the flag salute and the reading of the meeting purpose. It was M (Kurtz, WFSE948) S (Chrisman, IBEW89) and C to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Randy Kurtz, WFSE 948 was appointed to fill the Vice Presidentıs Chair. Chris Glenn, SPEEA2001 was appointed to fill the Sgt At Arms Chair.





   M (Sells,EEA/UTE772) S (Bohan, SEIU925) to seat new delegates who were present. John Gage, IAFF 46 was sworn in as a new delegate.




  Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported that the last Executive Board meeting did not have a quorum. However, 4 of the Board members did conduct a screening of a candidate and did a subsequent polling of the Board. As a result, the following motion was brought to the floor from the Screening Committee: M/S/ to endorse Kerry Watkins for Lake Stevens City Council, Position 3. The motion carried.




COPE Motions from the floor in the September meeting:

            1. M (Minchew, EEA/UTE 772) S (Rommel, SPEEA) to endorse David Simpson for Everett City Council, Pos.

M/S/F to endorse David Simpson for Everett City Council, Position 7


            2. M (Downey, IAFF 46) S (Shove, IAM 751) to endorse Shannon Affholter for Everett City Council, Pos. 7

M/S/F to endorse Shannon Affholter for Everett City Council, Position 7




Organizing Reports--IBT 38, Samantha Kantak reported on efforts by the Frito Lay Company to decertify the union.


Contract Negotiations—IFPTE 17, Geoffrey Crofoot reported on negotiations at the Snohomish County Health District, and the units frustration with health care costs. ATU 1576, Chris Brydges reported that negotiations had just started at Community Transit.




M (Mead,EEA/UTE772) S (Bohan, SEIU925) and carried the following resolution on the No Child Left Behind Act Reauthorization:


Resolution to Oppose the Miller-Pelosi Reauthorization Proposal for the No Child Left Behind Act


WHEREAS, the current Miller-Pelosi proposal for reauthorizing the No Child Left Behind Act will hurt our union brothers and sisters by eroding collective bargaining rights for teacher compensation, evaluation, transfer and reassignment; and


WHEREAS, the one-size-fits-all approach of NCLB is hurting our students, teachers and public schools, and this proposal will make a bad law worse; and


WHEREAS, Congress should not seek to control and punish local school districts, but should offer assistance and support to those schools and students that need help; and


WHEREAS, students should be valued as being more than test scores; and


WHEREAS, this reauthorization proposal will make it harder to attract and retain quality teachers in our classrooms; and


WHEREAS, the American Federation of Teachers and the National Education Association, the Washington Education Association and AFT Washington support rewriting NCLB to include successful programs such as smaller class sizes, school modernization, hiring additional school counselors, providing quality teacher and paraprofessional training; and increasing parental involvement in our public schools; and


THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Snohomish County Labor Council ask our members of Congress to oppose this NCLB reauthorization proposal and convey our opposition to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and House Committee on Education Chairman, George Miller.




Bruce Zeller, Department of Labor Industries passed out Labor & Industries contact information and reported on the rules modification process.


Suzanne Moreau, Puget Sound Labor Agency, reported on the Macyıs Shop for a Cause noting that the volunteers in Everett raised the most money at the event. She talked about  the upcoming holiday quilt raffle, the volunteers for the United Way Day of Caring and handed out Machinist Halloween Safety bags.


Correspondence read: Thank you from County Council candidate, Mike Cooper; 10/8/07 acknowledgment from Governorıs office on Superior Court Judicial appointment recommendation; 10/16/07

Thank you from County Sheriff candidate, John Lovick; 10/23/07 Thank you from IFPTE 17 Union Rep. Ray Goforth for support in their MetroKC negotiations.


M (Kurtz, WFSE948) S (Shove, IAM751A) to adjourn the meeting at 6:39 PM


Respectfully submitted,


Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer






AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Gloria Parker


AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811PA: Tim Geraghty

AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Phedra Quincey

AFSCME 1355: No Delegate

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Kim Mead, Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

AFT 4254:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: Christine Brydges

AWPPW 644: No Delegate

GCIU 767M:

IAFF 46: John Gage

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130:

IAM 751A: Michael Cummins, Don Shove, Sandra Torfin

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E: Ron Bradley

IAM 751F: Jackie Boshok, Jonathan Holden, Grace Holland, Garth Luark, Duane Roope


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Peg Chrisman

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Jason Armstrong, Darrell Chapman

IBT 38: Mike Campbell, Janine Dibble, Samantha Kantak, Rick Olson

IBT 174:

IBT 231: Leonard Kelley

IBT 763:

IBU/ ILWU: Robin Ramsey, David McKenzie

IFPTE 17: Geoffrey Crofoot

ILWU 32:

IUOE 302: No Delegate

IUPAT DC 5: No Delegate

IW 86:

LIUNA 292: Rodolfo Zavala

NALC 791:


OPEIU 277: No Delegate

Pac NW Newspaper Guild:

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26:


SEIU 925: Toni Bohan, Donna Chrisman

SEIU 1199NW:

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Chris Glenn, David Simpson

UBC 562: John Noble

UFCW 44: No Delegate

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UFCW 21:

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Curt Eidem, Rennie Sawade


Excused Absences

IAFF 46: Bob Downey

IAM 751C: Hank Getchman

LIUNA 292:  Doug Scott, Jim Smith

SPEEA: Mark Moshey, Bob Rommel

UBC 562: Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 21: Nancy Young



Suzanne Moreau, PSLA

Arden Watson, Marysville Education Association

Daryn Wilbur, Teamsters 38

Bruce Zeller, AFSCME 443