Snohomish County Labor Council
Minutes of the Meeting of September 25, 2013


The meeting was called to order at 6 PM by President Chapman. The Flag salute and reading of the meeting purpose followed. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.


      IAM 751C: George Wilson

      IBEW 77: Arlene Cunningham

      IBT 117: Terry Hutchins, Darin Norton

      IUPAT DC 5: Jim Mudd

      OPEIU 8: John OKeefe

      SPEEA: Suzanne Kamiya-Harding


M/S/C to seat the new delegates who were present. Suzanne Kamiya-Harding was sworn in




Alex Johnson for Initiative 522 gave an explanation of the initiative designed to get foods labeled with their content information or whether they were derived from genetically modified crops.


Dave Warren and Rick Bender, Gateway Terminal Project, spoke on the need for the commodity export center in Whatcom County. They noted it had been endorsed by the AFL/CIO at its convention and the Washington State Labor Council. The project with have a project labor agreement on it. Without the project the exports will move by rail into Canada.  At this point, the Environmental Impact Statement will take two years.


Meeting was recessed for 5 minutes while guest left.


Meeting was reconvened.



Pres. Chapman reported on the AFL/CIO Convention and the change in direction that is being promoted. He mentioned that the quality of the speeches was outstanding, and the work schedule heavy. He thanked the Council for sending him as delegate.


Marcus Courtney, Senior Field Rep for the Northwest Region of the AFL/CIO, spoke on being new at the job after spending 5 years overseas dealing with international relations. He discussed the changes that may be coming and expectations with regards to strategic planning for state and local councils. He also covered the potential of reaching out to other like-minded groups to bring them into a closer relationship with the labor movement.


Leonard Kelley, Membership Education Coordinator spoke to the delegates about the need to be involved in our upcoming Labor/Neighbor activities. Sign-up sheets were handed around. He noted that one way to get back on track for the Labor movement was to elect people who are pro-union to office.




Organizing--SPEEA, Bob Rommel, reported on a petition to represent two people in Florida that are directly tied to an Alcion unit.


Contract Negotiations—SPEEA, Bob Rommel noted they had completed a three year contract agreement with Trimec. He also noted that several ongoing unfair labor practices cases against the Boeing Company were coming to fruition with 2 of 6 heading to trial in the next few months.

Teamsters 38—Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported on the takeaways being asked for by the grocery companies.




M/S/C to grant strike sanction to Teamsters Local 38 in its dispute with area grocery stores.




Ann Seabott, Wash Tech-United Way Labor Committee, updated the delegates on the United Way Spirit breakfast noting that Chris Kelly, Letter Carriers 791, was given the Spirit of Labor Award for her work on organizing the annual Letter Carriers Food Drive. She reported that the Day of Caring projects were completed in a shorter time than which they were allocated. She thanked the Machinists for the helping with the projects. Another project is scheduled for October 5th. Toys for Tots is coming up and there will be a Dec. 14th work day to pick up toys and organize them for distribution.


President Chapman thanked the Laborers for showing up for the Everett transportation hearing.


Jim Smith, Laborers 292, promoted the KSER 90.7 FM Radio Labor Journal. He introduced John Ruiz who will be helping with the program.


Adjourned at 7:18 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer





AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:



AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1828: No Delegate

IAFF 1984:

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup

IAM 751C: Rod Sigvartson, George Wilson

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Jonathan Holden


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Arlene Cunningham, , Chris Reed, Nicole Reedy

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Damien Fisher, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Leonard Kelley

IBT 117:

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231: Rich Ewing

IBT 763: No Delegate

IBU/ ILWU: Robin Ramsey, David McKenzie

IUOE 302: Rick Cunningham

IUPAT DC 5: Greg Flatmo

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791: Bob James


Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, James Gillan, Suzanne Kamiya-Harding, Marc Murphy, Bob Rommel, Kurt Schuetz

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Rennie Sawade, Ann Seabott



Excused Absences

IAM 751F: Jackie Boschok

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

SPEEA: Sandy Hastings, David Simpson



Rick Bender, LIUNA 242

Marcus Courtney, AFL-CIO

AJ Johnson, IAFF 4118

John Ruiz, IAM 751

David Warren, NWWCLC