Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of August 24, 2011


The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Chapman followed by the Flag salute and reading of the meeting purpose. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.



á      AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin

á      AFSCME 109E: Sheryl Baker, Sean Hare, Curtis Jasper, Beverly Riley, Judy Wahl

á      AFSCME 113: Jim Imhof, Dan Packard

á      IAFF 46: John Gage

á      IBEW 191: Damien Fisher

á      IUPAT 5: Art Diaz


  M/S/C to seat the new delegates that were present. Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109 was sworn in as a delegate to the Council.




Marilyn McMahon, R.N., Department of Labor and Industries, explained the new on line process for filing workers compensation claims.


Tara Goode, Washington State Nurses Association, went over the settlement at Skagit Valley Hospital and thanked the delegates for their support.


Robbie Stern, Coalition to Save Social Security, discussed the October 18th Event at Everett Community College. Our lead on it will be Steve Horn of AFT 1873.


Lori Province, Washington State Labor Council, reported on the voting records in the last legislative session, and updated delegates on the Verizon bargaining


Guests were excused




EXECUTIVE BOARD REPORT—Secretary Treasurer Sells reported the Board had authorized him to work with United Way on their new position. He stated that United Way has indicated that the new person working with Labor should be a union member. He also noted there would be a labor advisory committee appointed to work with United Way, and that he and United Way had had discussions with Armando Olivas, AFL/CIO Community Services, about potential training.

  The Board also met as the COPE Screening Committee and recommended the endorsement of John Nehring for Mayor of Marysville and Mike Cooper for Mayor of Edmonds.




Organizing Reports—ATU 1576, Rick Jurkovic reported on organizing going on at Hope Link in King County. They have 60% on cards and an election will be September 22nd.

  IAM 751A, Jason Redrup reported on the successful election at Esterline unit of Hytek Finishes in Kent. The election was won by a 2 to 1 margin. The company did hire a union busting outfit.


Contract Negotiations—ATU 1576, Rick Jurkovic reported on negotiations for supervisors at CT, First Transit in Everett and Senior Services of Snohomish County.

  SPEEA, Bob Rommel reported on the 95% turn down on a contract offer at Spirit in Wichita. They are going back to the table on August 25th.

  UBC 70, Ed Triezenberg reported on 72 employers in 5 states signing on with the Carpenters.

  IAFF 46, Don Schwab reported on a meeting of the city employee unions with the Mayor of EverettŐs office regarding budget shortfalls. The mayor asked them to forego their CPI raises. The unions have rejected that for the time being and would like to explore all of the alternatives to help the situation.


Other Local Activity—IBEW 191, Darrell McLaughlin reported on the passing of Darrell Wolk, a local activist and SCLC delegate.

  WFSE 1020, Eric Wiseman reported on a Department of Transportation worker who was struck and injured on Camano Island.




  Nominations were opened for Sgt. At Arms, for a term to end in 2013. Grace Holland, IAM 751F had been previously nominated. No further nominations were made. It was M/S/C to cast a unanimous ballot for Grace Holland. She will be sworn in at the next meeting.




M/S/C to endorse John Nehring for Marysville Mayor

M/S/C to endorse Mike Cooper for Edmonds Mayor


The meeting was adjourned at 6:54 PM


Respectfully submitted,


Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer




AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:



AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate


AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873: Steven Horn

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic

AWPPW 183: Brian Wheeler

AWPPW 644:

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46: Don Schwab

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Jackie Boschok


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77:

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Janine Dibble

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231: Leonard Kelley

IBT 763: No Delegate

IBU/ ILWU: Robin Ramsey, David McKenzie


IUOE 302: No Delegate


IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Dan Christofferson

NALC 791: Bob James


OPEIU 277: No Delegate

Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925:

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66: No Delegate

SPEEA:James Gillan, Bob Rommel

UBC 70: Guy Johnson, Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA:


Excused Absences

AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Gloria Parker, Terry VanWyck

IBT 38: Rick Olson

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn

SPEEA: David Simpson



Marilyn McMahon, RN, Department of L&I

Tara Goode, WSNA

Robbie Stern, Coalition to Save Social Security

Lori Province, WSLC