SCLC Minutes 2/24/2016

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Redrup, IAM 751, followed by the flag salute and the reading of the meeting purpose. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.



There were no new delegates to be sworn in


Victor Harris from the Snohomish County Democrats spoke about the need to fill vacant PCO positions and to encourage people to show up at the Washington caucuses.

Swearing in of Officers

Ed Triezenberg, WashTech, Jason Redrup, IAM 751A, and Michael Boe, Teamsters 117 were all sworn in to their perspective positions on the Executive Board.

Secretary Treasurers , State Officers Report.

Michelle Stelovich: Vice President WSLC shared the time line from the WSLC on the upcoming election season. She stated that right now they are putting together a list of targeted races in the State.

She also reported on the WSLC’s class “Path to Power” which is a candidate training course to be held April 14th and 15th in Yakima.

Secretary Treasurer Leonard Kelley, IBT 38, reported on Initiative 1433 and the “Raise up Washington” Campaign organization meeting being held on March 2nd and the importance of getting this initiative on the ballot.

Secretary Treasurer reported that a hotel in Las Vegas with 500 employees has filed for and won an election for Union Representation with Unite Here. The hotel is owned by Donald Trump and management is trying to appeal the election.

He then shared a video made by the Northwest Accountability project on the Freedom Foundation and their anti-union efforts.

Secretary Treasurer Kelley gave an update on the next class in the Labor Education Series. The class is “Worker’s Rights – Union and Non-Union” being held on March 19th.

 Reports of Unions:  Susanne Murphy, SPEEA, reported that Representative June Robinson, 38th District, was going to be reintroducing the bill on Aerospace Accountability hoping to force Boeing to keep jobs here and tie those jobs to the massive tax breaks they are receiving.



New Business

A motion was made and seconded to endorse Hans Dunshee to fill the vacant position for County Council. The vote was held and Hans Dunshee was endorsed unanimously. A letter will be sent to the County Council about the endorsement.

 Good of the Order

Betty Welsh, Labor Engagement Manager United Way, WashTech, talked about using #FeedSnoco to involve everyone in The Letter Carriers Food Drive and the SCLC Peanut Butter Drive.  Twitter your Brothers and Sisters about the opportunities to give.

The Letter Carrier Food Drive is May 14th, last year we collected 259 thousand pounds of food this year we are going for 265 thousand pounds of food. The more we involve our members and using #FeedSnoco is a great tool, the better the outcome.

Peanut Butter provides a great source of protein to the food banks and is their most requested item. Please bring your donation of Peanut Butter to the next meeting. Jif and Adams are Union makers of Peanut Butter, but our Union stores support the drive with other brands too.


Meeting was adjourned at 6:43 PM

Respectfully Submitted,


Leonard Kelley


AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811CA: Patty Goins, Terry VanWyck

AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Angela Guadamuz, John Randolph

AFSCME 1020:

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: 

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: John Sainz

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1828:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAFF 3916: No Delegate

IAFF 4118:

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Brian Butler, Joel Hetland, Jason Redrup

IAM 751C: Michael Hill, Rod Sigvartson

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Garth Luark


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Mike Black, Jackie Rae

IBEW 89:  Teresa Johnson, Karen Tegard

IBEW 191: Kenneth Frey, Darrel McLaughlin, 

IBT 38: John Howell Jr., Leonard Kelley

IBT 117: Michael Boe

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302: Bill Albin Jr., Al Cummins, Rick Cunningham

IUPAT DC 5: Steven Dore, Robert Rahkonen

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791:

OPEIU 8: Tara McIntosh, Phyllis Naiad, Adam Thorton

Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, James Gillan, Susanne Murphy, Kurt Schuetz, Kenneth Ware

UBC 70:  John Lehman, Fidencio Denis Velasco

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Ed Triezenberg, Betty Welsh



Excused Absences

IAM 130: Ron Harrell

IBT 38: Steven Chandler, Tammi Brady, Debbie Gath, Samantha Kantak

NALC 791: Bob James, Chris Kelly

SPEEA: Sandy Hastings, David Simpson, Robert Sutton

UBC 70: John Lehman




Jim Davis, Retired Teamsters Local 38

Victor C. Harris, Snohomish Democrats

Michele Stelovich, WSLC District 2 VP, WFSE Local 1060