Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of December 11, 2013


The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Vice President Redrup. The flag salute and reading of meeting purpose followed. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.




      IBEW 191: Randall Reynolds

      IBT 117: Terry Hutchins, Darrin Norton

      IUPAT DC 5: Jim Mudd

      OPEIU 8: Jennifer Greff, Laura Moreno, Sue OConnor Prilliman, Adam Thornton, Addley Tole, Jr.


M/S/C to seat the new delegates who were present. Jim Mudd, IUPAT DC was sworn in.




Ty Trenary, Snohomish County Sheriff, introduced himself and reported that he would be running for the office. He currently lives in Stanwood and worked his way through the ranks. He currently is endorsed by the IBEW, Machinists and his own union of which he used to be the President.


The meeting was recessed for 5 minutes for guests to leave. Following that, non-delegates were excused from the meeting. Meeting was reconvened.




Sec. Treas. Sells noted that the Executive Board had met on December 6th and approved a new staff contract. He thanked Allyn Triezenberg, Jackie Rae and Leonard Kelley for helping with the evenings food for the delegates and the set up. Leonard Kelley, Education Committee chair briefed the delegates on the election results and thanked those that were able to come out and phone. He will be working on moving the Education Committee forward after the first of the year.




Organizing Reports--SPEEA, Bob Rommel updated the delegates on the NLRB election that was successful at Armor Global. The members are stationed in Miami, but will be represented by the SPEEA



Contract Negotiations—Jason Redrup, IAM 751A, updated the delegates on the 777X situation at Boeing. He noted that Boeing continued to push to eliminate pensions with a freeze on them for new hires. It would have been a 10 year agreement extension with a 10% cost shifting onto the workers in every year. The pay scale would have taken 20 years to reach the top where it is currently at 6 years. There would be a frozen starting wage of $16.00 for 10 years. He noted that what had been proposed was voted down 2 to 1 by the members with over 80% voting.

IAFF 46—Paul Gagnon reported that they were 10 days away from interest arbitration with the city of Everett.




  Nominations were opened for two year terms beginning in 2014 for the following offices: President, Trustees 1,3,4 and 5. The following nominations were made:


      President: Jason Redrup, IAM 751A

      Trustee 1: Doug Scott, LIUNA 292

      Trustee 3: Ed Triezenberg, UBC 70

      Trustee 4: Michael Boe, IBT 117, Ann Seabott, CWA 37083

      Trustee 5: Leonard Kelley, IBT 38


  Nominations were closed, but will be reopened in the January meeting




Ann Seabott, United Way Labor Committee, WashTech, reminded delegates of the Toys for Tots, Saturday gathering from 9 AM to 4 PM. Volunteers to help with gathering the toys were welcome. They will be collecting through December 23rd.


Jim Smith, LIUNA 292, KSER Radio Labor Journal, updated delegates on recent interviews from the rally in Seattle in support of Machinists and commented on Wal Mart boxes asking for donations for employees.


Rep. Mike Sells, 38th District, reported on the recent special session granting Boeing extensions on tax exemptions to gain the 777X line. He prime sponsored the legislation from the Governors office on the training programs that need to be done.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:51 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer



AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate


AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772:Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic, John Sainz

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46: Paul Gagnon

IAFF 1828: No Delegate

IAFF 1984:

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAFF 3916: No Delegate

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F:


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191:

IBT 38: Leonard Kelley

IBT 117: Michael Boe,

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302: Rick Cunningham

IUPAT DC 5: Jim Mudd

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791: Bob James


Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, James Gillan, Suzanne Kamiya-Harding, Bob Rommel, David Simpson

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Ann Seabott


Excused Absences

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFT 772: Kim Mead

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Darrel McLaughlin

SPEEA: Sandy Hastings



Ty Trenary, Snohomish County Sheriff