Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of November 16, 2011


  The meeting was called to order at 6 PM by Vice President Redrup. President Chapman was at an IBEW organizing meeting in Wenatchee. Randy Kurtz, AFSCME 948 was appointed to the Vice Presidents chair for the meeting. The meeting protocol was read, and the minutes of the previous meeting was approved as posted.



      AFSCME 109E: Sheryl Barker, Sean Hare, Curtis Jasper, Beverly Riley, Judy Wahl

      AFSCME 113: Dan Packard

      ATU 1576: Patty Ceis

      IAFF 46: John Gage

      IBEW 191: Steve Candy, Damien Fisher, Patrick Gallatin, Devyn Johanson


  M/S/C to seat the new delegates that were present. Patty Ceis, Damien Fisher and Devyn Johanson were sworn in.



   The business meeting was suspended for guests


Rep. Mark Miloscia, Candidate for State Auditor, spoke about his background in support of labor issues and working with employees to bring great efficiencies and accountability to state government. He said that we needed to listen carefully to employees to help fix state government.

King County Councilman, Bob Ferguson, Candidate for State Attorney General
, noted that he was the only Democrat in the race at this time. He gave his background in working with Labor at the County level and responded to questions.


Jim Smith, KSER Radio Labor Journal, gave an update on upcoming programs and times for the programs at KSER 90.7 FM


  Guests execused.

  Continuation of business meeting



  Sec. Treas. Sells reported that the Board would be meeting on Friday and Tuesday to go over the 2012 budget and to audit the books. Vice President Redrup reported on the United Way Labor Advisory Board and the Toys for Tots that the Labor Council will be helping with. On the Letter Carriers Food Drive, the goal will be to raise $15,000 for the food pick-up  bags.




Organizing—No new reports


Contract Negotiations—No new reports


Other Local activity—Dan Christofferson, LIUNA 292, reported that on December 3rd, the local would be having a Santa event.





  Nominations were opened for 2012-13 terms for the following offices: President, Trustees 1,3,4,5. The following nominations were made:

      President: Darrell Chapman, IBEW 191

      Trustee 1: Dan Christofferson, Trustee 1

      Trustee 3: Ed Triezenberg, UBC 70

      Trustee 4: Randy Kurtz, AFSCME 948

      Trustee 5: Leonard Kelley, IBT 231

  Nominations will be open at the January meeting, also.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:46 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer



AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate

AFSCME 113: Cameron Johnson

AFSCME 1811:



AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576: Patty Ceis

AWPPW 183:

AWPPW 644:

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Mark Clark, Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Jackie Boschok, Grace Holland


IBEW 46:

IBEW 77:

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Damien Fisher, Devyn Johanson

IBT 38: Janine Dibble, Rick Olson

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IBU/ ILWU: David McKenzie


IUOE 302: No Delegate


IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Dan Christofferson,

NALC 791: Bob James

OPEIU 8: Janice Herrera

OPEIU 277: No Delegate

Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925:

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66: No Delegate

SPEEA: James Gillan, Bob Rommel, David Simpson

UBC 70: Guy Johnson

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA:


Excused Absences

AFT 772: Kim Mead

AFT 1873: Steven Horn

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 231: Leonard Kelley

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg



Wash Tech / CWA: Rennie Sawade




Bob Ferguson, Candidate for Attorney General

Mark Miloscia, State Representative / Candidate for State Auditor

Jim Smith, Radio Labor Journal

Mike Webb, Ferguson Campaign