Snohomish County Labor Council
Minutes of the Meeting of October 23, 2013


The meeting was called to order by President Chapman at 6:00 PM followed by the Flag salute and reading of meeting purpose. Minutes of the previous meeting were accepted as e mailed out.




      ATU 1576: John Sainz

      IBEW 191: Randall Reynolds

      IBT 117: Terry Hutchins, Darrin Norton

      IUPAT DC 5: Jim Mudd

      OPEIU 8: John OKeefe


M/S/C to seat the delegate that was present. John Sainz, ATU 1576 was sworn in.




State Representative Marko Liias, 21st District, reported on the Transportation revenue package passed out of the House that died in the State Senate. He is Vice Chair of the House Transportation Committee. He noted the significant work done by Snohomish County legislators in bringing a larger package of Snohomish County projects to the table. He said hopefully we can get it through the next session. It is something that will keep us competitive in the efforts to win the 777X program. He also noted that in the 2014 election, he will be seeking the State Senate seat in the 21st District, as the current Senator, Paull Shin, will be retiring.


Lisa Pau, Washington State Labor Education and Research Center, introduced the delegates to the program, which is currently located at Seattle Community College. They will be putting together workshops, classes and training on a number of subjects including organizing, building volunteers and labor history. The classes will be held locally.


Dianna Chamblin, Everett Clinic Director of Occupational Medicine, discussed their new Center for Occupational Health and Education which can help advocate for the best practices in helping injured workers to get healthy and back to work.


A 5 minute break for the guest to leave was taken.


The Meeting was reconvened.





Leonard Kelley, IBT 38, Membership Education reported on the phone banks and the need for volunteers. Sec. Treas. Sells reported on the Official Snohomish County Labor Council Facebook page that is up and running.




Organizing—No new reports


Contract Negotiations— IBEW 89, Teresa Johnson reported that the negotiations with Frontier has gone to mediation.

  ATU 1576, John Sainz that members at Senior Services ratified a wage reopener by 48-9. A deal with First Transit fell through for the members they represent at the Lakewood property at 1:20 AM. The local won an unfair labor practice against First Transit Lakewood for the layoff of a payroll clerk. They are currently negotiating to keep the position. Community Transit is currently headed to interest arbitration. He noted the local had endorsed two candidates: Dave Somers for Snohomish County Council, District 3 and Leonard Kelley for Stanwood Mayor.

  IAM 130, Ron Harrell reported that the 196 day strike at Belshaw Adamatic Bakery group ended with the ratification of an agreement on October 2nd.

  IBT 38, Steve Chandler reported that the members would be voting next Wednesday on a new agreement with the grocery store chains. This comes after 38 sessions over 6 months. The agreement will be recommended by the leadership.

  IATSE 15, Tom McConnell reported on recent efforts by a set-up company to blame their scheduling problems on their members.




  Ann Seabott, Wash Tech, United Way Labor Committee, discussed the United Way/Labor Committee Assistance brochures that locals could use for members in need. The Labor Committee will assist the Toys for Tots program again this year in gathering donated toys for distribution. Volunteers will be gathering on December 14 from 9 AM to 4 PM at the VFW Hall on Oakes.

  Jim Smith, LIUNA 292, updated delegates on the KSER 90.7 FM Radio Labor Journal and introduced his help in the program John Ruiz.


The meeting adjourned at 6:57 PM


Respectfully submitted,

Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer



AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576:, John Sainz

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46: No Delegate

IAFF 1828: No Delegate

IAFF 1984:

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130:  Ron Harrell

IAM 751A: Mark Clark, Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Jonathan Holden

IATSE 15: Tom McConnell

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Arlene Cunningham, Jackie Rae

IBEW 89: Teresa Johnson

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Steven Chandler, Leonard Kelley

IBT 117: Michael Boe, Brad Waddell

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302: Rick Cunningham


IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791:, Chris Kelly


Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66: Mark Riker

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, James Gillan, Sandy Hastings, Sophia Jones, Suzanne Kamiya-Harding, Bob Rommel, David Simpson

UBC 70:

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Ann Seabott



Excused Absences

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic

NALC 791: Bob James

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg



Max Bradley, The Everett Clinic

Dianna Chamblin, The Everett Clinic

Marko Liias, 21st District State Representative

Douglas Nickels, The Everett Clinic

Lisa Pau, WA. Labor Education and Research Center

Uly Ruiz, IAM 751A