Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of October 22, 2014


The meeting was called to order by Pres. Redrup at 6:00 PM. The flag salute and reading of meeting purpose followed. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.




á       ATU 883: Steve Oss

á       IAFF 46: Jason Brock

á       IAM 751A: Shannon Ryker

á       IBT 117: Terry Hutchins, Darrin Norton

á       SPEEA: Kenneth Ware


M/S/C to seat the new delegates present. Steve Oss, ATU 883, was sworn in



Dennis Smith, Pres./CEO of Snohomish County United Way gave delegates and update on the organizations talks with the community. He noted that mental health had been a priority for budgeting by the SCLC delegates in a recent budget exercise. It was similar with the rest of the community. They are currently putting budget plans together. He introduced Betty Walsh, the new Labor Donation Relations staff hired with the help of the Labor Council. Ms. Walsh noted her past experience at UPS, including human relations. She then worked for a full service retirement community. She gave delegates and update on Toys for Tots. Some of the greatest needs for children is in the 14 to 17 year old category.


Delegates were then given a 15 minute recess to talk with guests. Afterward, non-delegates were excused from the business meeting.




Vice President Kelley gave an update on the phone banks. Help will be needed on Tuesday, October 28th in the evening for get out the vote calls. He also discussed recent newspaper reports regarding the 44th Legislative District.




Organizing Reports—ATU 883, Steve Oss reported on organizing efforts at Durham Transportation in Everett


Contract Negotiations—AFSCME 109, Polagaya McLaughlin reported that Council 2 had exchanged papers with Snohomish County. Their next meeting they were to get financial information. ATU 883, Steve Oss reported noted they were in the early stages of negotiations with Everett Transit. He also noted that his local has been around since 1917. Recently, they settled through arbitration a contract that goes back 2 ½ years and he felt they had done quite well. He also expressed concern with how the city was expending sales tax dollars voted for use of transit by the citizens back in 2004. UBC 70,
Ed Triezenberg reported on interest arbitration for the 2015-16 contract. They were awarded 2 ½ times more than what the state was offering. The arbitrator also noted the lack of the integrity of the state in the process. Now the award has to be approved in the budget by the state legislature.




Jim Smith, LIUNA 292 encouraged delegates to listen to the Radio Labor Journal on KSER FM 90.7. Sec. Treas. Sells discussed minutes availability. Rick Jurkovic, ATU 1576 reported on international activity asking people to Vote For Transit. He handed out the international unionŐs materials. Doug Scott, LIUNA 292 thanked Leonard Kelley and staff for the food prep for the eveningŐs meeting. Leonard Kelley, IBT 38 reported on Betty Walsh and her work at UPS. During her tenure in management there were no grievances filed.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:41 PM


Respectfully submitted,



Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer


AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811CA: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate


AFSCME 1020:

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772:  Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: Steve Oss, Rick Swartz

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic, John Sainz

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1828:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAFF 3916: No Delegate

IAFF 4118:

IAM 130:  Ron Harrell

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F:

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

IBEW 89: Teresa Johnson

IBEW 191: Damien Fisher, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Leonard Kelley

IBT 117: Michael Boe

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302:

IUPAT DC 5: Greg Flatmo

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791: Bob James

OPEIU 8: No Delegate

Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Bob Rommel, Kurt Schuetz

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA:


Excused Absences

SPEEA: Sandy Hastings



Susanne Murphy, SPEEA

Dennis Smith, United Way

Betty Walsh, United Way