Minutes SCLC Delegates Meeting January 25, 2017

The Meeting was called to order at 6:02PM by President Jason Redrup, IAM 751.

The flag salute was held and the president’s message was read. A motion and a second were made to accept the minutes from the previous meeting anhe motion passed unanimously.


Susan Oluo, Steve Nelson and Eric Wiseman, AFSCME 1020 and Jessica Matheson, UBC 70 were present to be sworn in as delegate. A motion and a second were made to accept the delegates present, the motion passed unanimously and the delegates were sworn in by VP Doug Scott, LIUNA 292.


Alex Lark, candidate for Everett city Council was present; he spoke to the group about his qualifications and desires to be on the Everett City Council and stated he was here merely to introduce himself.

Katrina Ondracek, former candidate for the 44th Legislative District spoke to the group and expressed her appreciation for their support in her attempt to win a seat in the Legislature. She added she thought the labor Council delegates were amazing. Katrina also spoke on the Lake Stevens library bond, she added she knew it was too late for us to endorse it but hoped we would all support the bond.

Secretary Treasurers Report

Secretary Treasurer Leonard Kelley, IBT 38, reported on the Education Committee and activities they have done in the past like Labor booths at fairs. Education classes will continue. The first class for this year will be March 18th and will be a repeat of the first class from two years ago ‘Unions 101”.

He asked Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89, to report on the Bring a Younger Brother or Sister to dinner event.

Teresa reported that the dinner will be held on March 8th, delegates are encouraged to bring a fellow Union member under the age of 35. She added they will have 3 speakers during the dinner, Leonard Kelley from the Labor Council, Darby from the Washington State Labor and Education research center and Betty Welsh from the United Way. Teresa said the food served will be enchiladas from Amigos Restaurant and black beans and rice, salad and desert.

Secretary Treasurer Kelly reported that we will also being trying something new later on in the year, a millennial mixer.

He also added that the Trade Up events will be taking place again this year, the first one will be held April 4th at Arlington Airport and the second on April 27th at Marysville High School.

Other Union Activities

Polagaya McLaughlin, AFSCME 109, reported that they were down in Olympia for a Lobby Day and when they went to some Republican Legislators and talked with their aides that a few actually came out and talked with them.

Michael Boe, IBT 117 reported they will be having a Lobby Day on February 14th.

Old Business

Nominations and Elections

Secretary Treasurer, Leonard Kelley, IBT 38, was nominated for Secretary Treasurer at the previous meeting, the floor was opened up for additional nominations and none were made.

Vice President, Doug Scott ,LIUNA 292, was nominated for Vice President at the previous meeting, the floor was opened up for additional nominations and none were made.

Sargent at Arms Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89, and John Sainz, ATU 1576, were nominated at the previous meeting, the floor was opened for additional nominations and none were made.

Trustee #2, Susanne Murphy, SPEEA, was nominated at the previous meeting, the floor was opened for additional nominations and none were made.

Trustee #6, Jackie Rae, IBEW 77, was nominated at the previous meeting, the floor was opened for additional nominations and none were made.

President Redrup, IAM 751, accepted a motion to accept all positions that only have one candidate to be seated by acclamation, a vote was taken and passed unanimously.

President Redup, IAM 751, asked for volunteer ballot counters and Eric Wiseman, AFSCME 1020, and Chris Glen, LIUNA 292, volunteered. Ballots were passed out for the position of Sergeant at Arms.

While ballots were being counted, County Councilman Brian Sullivan made an impromptu appearance and spoke to the delegates. He stated that he had just announced his intention to run for Mayor of Everett. He gave a background on what he’s done in the past and stated he will be asking for the Labor Council’s endorsement. He stated that he has already received the Machinist and Laborers union endorsements. Brian added that his grandfather was a Union organizer for the Operating Engineers. He said he grew up sitting around the dinner table listening to how important unions were and getting wages up.

The tallied ballots were presented to President Redrup, IAM 751, and he announced the Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89, was elected to Sargent at Arms.

All of the officers were sworn in except Susanne Murphy, SPEEA, who was not present.

Labor Engagement Manager.

Teresa Johnson, IBEW 89,  gave the report for Betty Welsh, WashTech, who was absent due to knee surgery. Teresa stated Betty wanted to thank everyone for their efforts with Toys for Tots, even with the snow and a truck not being able to make it we were able to get a lot of toys out to needy families. She added a shout out to IAM 751 and the United Way Labor Advisory committee for ramp building.

Teresa stated that the peanut butter drive is on again this year and our goal is to collect more than last year which was 5927 pounds. So drop off your cash donations or peanut butter at the Labor Temple through May 5th.

James DeCaro, IBEW 46, announced he was a PCO and that he was appointed to be the Labor Liaison for the Snohomish County Democrats.

Jim Smith, Laborers 292, gave a brief report on Radio Labor Journal and the different topics he reports on. He added he’s always looking for new topics.

The Meeting was adjourned at 7:03 PM


Respectfully submitted

Leonard Kelley, IBT 38, Secretary Treasurer



AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate


AFSCME 1020: Susan Oluo, Steve Nelson, Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: 

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:

ATU 1576: John Sainz

IAFF 46: Jason Brock

IAFF 1828:

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAFF 3916: No Delegate

IAFF 4118:

IAM 130: 

IAM 751A: Spencer Burris, Brian Butler, Mark Clark, Joel Hetland, Jason Redrup

IAM 751C: Michael Hill

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F: Howard Carlson, Denise Strike


IBEW 46: James DeCaro

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

IBEW 89:  Teresa Johnson, Karen Tegard

IBEW 191:

IBT 38: Mike Raughter

IBT 117: Michael Boe

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302: Bill Albin Jr., Rick Cunningham

IUPAT DC 5: Robert Rahkonen

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791: Bob James


Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Kurt Schuetz, David Simpson, Robert Sutton

UBC 70: Jessica Matheson, Fidencio Denis Velasco

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Charlene Rawson, Ed Triezenberg


Excused Absences

IBEW 191: Kenneth Frey, Darrel McLaughlin

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, Sandy Hastings, Susanne Murphy

UBC 70: John Lehman

Wash Tech / CWA: Betty Welsh






Victor C. Harris, SCDCC

Katrina Ondracek, Lake Stevens Library Initiative

Susan Ronken, PSE