Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of January 23, 2013


  The meeting was called to order at 6 PM by President Chapman. The flag salute and meeting purpose reading followed. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted..




AFSCME 109E: Sheryl Barker, Sean Hare, Curtis Jasper, Beverly Riley, Judy Wahl

AFSCME 113: Dan Packard

IBT 117: Sgt. Michael Boe, Terry Hutchins, Darrin Norton

OPEIU 8: Tracy Hoffman, Jennifer Moore, John O?Keef


M/S/C to seat the new delegates present. Sgt. Michael Boe was sworn in as a delegate form IBT 117




Paul Roberts, Everett City Councilman spoke to the delegates about commercial air service at Paine Field. A requirement to allow it from the FAA was also discussed. He asked to Council to consider support for moving ahead on it.


Lori Province, Washington State Labor Council, reported on recent legislative hearings and what she felt were attacks coming from the State Senate. She handed out the WSLC 2013 legislative agenda and thanked those that worked on Labor/Neighbor in the last election.




Secretary-Treasurer Sells reported on the December and January Executive Board meetings pursuant to budget for 2013 and a recent grievance process request that has been referred to the AFL/CIO for recommendations. He also noted that they had discussed the COPE process. Anyone wishing an endorsement in the upcoming local elections, will be asked to get a recommendation to interview from two of our affiliates. The Board has also voted to move accounts to Coastal Community Bank. He also noted it was the consensus of the Board to continue with Solidarity Night at the AquaSox. Sec. Treas. Sells noted that there would be no February meeting. Delegates were encouraged instead to attend the WSLC Legislative Conference the first week of March. The next meeting at the Labor Temple will be March 27th.







Contract Negotiations—Bob Rommel, SPEEA gave an update on the negotiations with the Boeing Company. They are particularly concerned with Boeing efforts to replace the defined benefit pension with a defined contribution 401k program for new hires.


Other Local Activities—None



   Nominations for two year terms beginning in 2013 were re-opened from the previous meeting. The following nomination was made in addition to those made at the meeting before:


Trustee 2: Bob Rommel


M/S/C to close nominations. M/S/C to elect the new officers by acclamation. The following people were elected to two year terms beginning in 2013:


Sec. Treas.: Mike Sells, AFT 772

Vice President: Jason Redrup, IAM 751A

Sgt. At Arms: Eric Wiseman, WFSE 1020

Trustee 2: Bob Rommel, SPEEA

Trustee 6: Janine Dibble, IBT 38




  Ron Harrell, IAM 130, thanked the Council for its support of the Human Rights Day event in Snohomish County. In particular he noted the help from IAM 751A and IBEW 77, as well as Jim Smith, who handled the KSER Radio Labor Journal.

  Lester Mullen, IAM 751A, invited delegates to participate in the IAM 751C, 1st Annual Sporting Clays Fundraiser, Sunday, April 14th, 15711-96th Street East in Puyallup from 9:30 AM to 3 PM. Contact for further information. He also discussed the Guide Dogs for America fund raising done by Machinists

  Jim Gillan, SPEEA, reported on the revamping of KSER Radio, which he believes does not bode well for community broadcasting.

  Secretary-Treasurer Sells noted that we would need a group to work on a Paine Field resolution for our March meeting.


The meeting was adjourned at 7:04 PM


Respectfully submitted,


Mike Sells, Secretary-Treasurer




AFSCME 109S: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811:



AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: Mike Sells

AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883: No Delegate

ATU 1576:

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46:

IAFF 1828: Rob Gullickson

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAM 130:  Ron Harrell

IAM 751A: Lester Mullen

IAM 751C: 

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F:

IATSE 15: Tom McConnell

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77:

IBEW 89:

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman

IBT 38:

IBT 117: Michael Boe, Brad Waddell

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate


IUOE 302:

IUPAT DC 5: Greg Flatmo

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Dan Christofferson, Doug Scott

NALC 791:


Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17:

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: James Gillan, Bob Rommel

UBC 70: Guy Johnson

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Rennie Sawade, Ann Seabott


Excused Absences

AFT 772: Kim Mead

IAM 751A: Jason Redrup

IAM 751C: Rod Sigvartson

IBT 38: Janine Dibble

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn

NALC 791: Bob James

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg



Lori Province, WSLC

Alaric Sawade

Darich Sawade

Paul Roberts, Everett City Council