Snohomish County Labor Council

Minutes of the Meeting of January 22, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by President Darrell Chapman. The flag salute and reading of meeting purpose followed. Minutes of the previous meeting were approved as posted.




Š      ATU 883: Steve Oss, Rick Swartz

Š      IAFF 46:Jason Brock, Matt Demiter

Š      IAFF 1828: Micah Gaston, AJ Johnson

Š      IBEW 191: Randall Reynolds

Š      IBT 117: Terry Hutchins, Darrin Norton

Š      OPEIU 8: Jennifer Greff, Laura Moreno, Sue O’Connor Prilliman, Adam Thornton, Addley Tole, Jr.


M/S/C to seat the new delegates who were present. Matt Demiter IAFF 4; Rick Swartz ATU 883; AJ Johnson, Micah Gaston IAFF 1828 were sworn in.




Ian Nelson, United Way Tax Campaign Manager spoke on the United Way free tax preparation program for lower wage earners. Refunds usually arrive in 7 – 10 days. Program has 73% very satisfied and last year helped over 300 people.


The meeting was recessed for 5 minutes for guests to leave. Following that, non-delegates were excused from the meeting. Meeting was reconvened.




Leonard Kelley, Member Education and Community Outreach, reported on the Member Education Committee and ask for volunteers for 2014.

He also reported on the conference call with Richard Trumka, AFL-CIO President. Topics included stopping Fast Track and raising the federal minimum wage.

Lisa Pau, Washington Labor Education Center, spoke on trainings to stop “Right to Work” and developing our coordinated campaign because the proponents will have a very coordinated campaign. She also addressed the issue of wage theft.




Organizing Reports—No Reports.


Contract Negotiations—Theresa Johnson, IBEW 89: In negotiations with Frontier Communications. They will be voting on a very poor contract offer.

Jim Imhoff, AFSCME 113: In negotiations with City of Everett and are currently working without a contract. City is targeting their medical.

Matt Demiter, IAFF 46: They opened negotiations last June, did not receive COLA for 2 years and after fighting the city finally received it. City is also going after their medical.

Rick Swartz, ATU 883: They are in a prolonged battle with City of Everett. Going to arbitration. Medical is also a target this year.     


Other Local Activities: Theresa Johnson, IBEW 89: The local is holding a caucus to promote people of color and women in their organization.



Nominations were read for Executive Board. No new nominations were added and the body accepted the nominees by acclamation.

Incoming President Jason Redrup, IAM 751A was presented the gavel by outgoing President Darrell Chapman, IBEW 191. Jason thanked Darrell for his years of service as president and stated that he had some big shoes to fill.



Vice President Jason Redrup, IAM 751 A, made a motion to have the SCLC Executive Board send a letter to Everett Mayor Ray Stephanson addressing the Labor Council’s concerns with the status of these negotiations. Motion was seconded and passed.





Ann Seabott, United Way Labor Committee, WashTech, reported on preparing for the Letter Carriers Food Drive, to be held on May 10th this year. She kicked off the SCLC Peanut Butter Drive in conjunction with the food drive. Peanut Butter is the most requested item at area food banks and is no longer subsidized by the Federal Government. The SCLC will be collecting jars of peanut butter at the March, April and May meetings. Ann noted that Jiff is a union made peanut butter.


Jim Smith, LIUNA 292, KSER Radio Labor Journal, spoke on the need for contributions to purchase new equipment.


The meeting was adjourned at 6:58 PM


Respectfully submitted,


Leonard Kelley, Trustee

Secretary-Treasurer Mike Sells, AFT 772 was excused as the Legislature is in session.



AFSCME 109: Polagaya McLaughlin


AFSCME 109S: No Delegate

AFSCME 113: Jim Imhof

AFSCME 1811:

AFSCME 1811C: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811CA: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JPD: No Delegate

AFSCME 1811JS: No Delegate


AFSCME 1811S: No Delegate

AFSCME 435: No Delegate

AFSCME 881: No Delegate

AFSCME 948: Randy Kurtz

AFSCME 1020: Eric Wiseman

AFSCME 2753: No Delegate

AFSCME 2964: No Delegate

AFT 772: AFT 1873:

APWU 484: No Delegate

ATU 883:  Rick Swartz

ATU 1576: Rick Jurkovic

GCIU 767M: No Delegate

IAFF 46: Matt Demiter

IAFF 1828: Micah Gaston, Rob Gullickson

IAFF 1984: No Delegate

IAFF 2694: No Delegate

IAFF 3916: No Delegate

IAFF 4118: AJ Johnson

IAM 130:  Ron Harrell, David Volkmann

IAM 751A: Lester Mullen, Jason Redrup

IAM 751C:

IAM 751E:

IAM 751F:

IBEW 46:

IBEW 77: Arlene Cunningham

IBEW 89:  Teresa Johnson

IBEW 191: Darrell Chapman, Darrel McLaughlin

IBT 38: Leonard Kelley

IBT 117: Michael Boe

IBT 174: No Delegate

IBT 231:

IBT 763: No Delegate

IUOE 302: Rick Cunningham

IUPAT DC 5: Jim Mudd

IW 86: No Delegate

LIUNA 292: Chris Glenn, Doug Scott, Jim Smith

NALC 791: Bob James


Pac NW Newspaper Guild: No Delegate

Plumbers and Pipefitters 26: No Delegate

PTE 17: Kathy Pierson

SEIU 6: No Delegate

SEIU 925: No Delegate

SEIU 1199NW: No Delegate

SMIU 66:

SPEEA: Lynn Burow, Suzanne Kamiya-Harding

UBC 70:

UFCW 141, USNU: No Delegate

UniteHere: No Delegate

Wash Tech / CWA: Rennie Sawade, Ann Seabott



Excused Absences

AFT 772: Mike Sells

IBEW 77: Jackie Rae

SPEEA: Sandy Hastings, Bob Rommel, David Simpson

UBC 70: Ed Triezenberg




Ian Nelson, United Way Tax Campaign Manager